22 SUMMITS stories about Zermatt | Signalkuppe

22 Summits Stories

Experiments in honour of the Queen

 

Warm Marsala wine, egg yolk in red wine, bed rest and cocaine: it was an adventurous treatment that the doctors gave Pietro Ramella. After a 48-hour climb with a 20-kilo backpack to the Capanna Regina Margherita on the signal peak in the Monte Rosa massif, the soldier suffered from headaches, nausea, racing pulses and spitting up blood. The year was 1894, and Pietro Ramella was one of a group of test subjects in an experiment to research altitude sickness. The Turin physiologist Angelo Mosso, together with 12 scientists, conducted the research in what is still known today as the "headache box". The 1894 research trip is described in detail in an article by Oswald Oelz, published in the mountain monograph "Monte Rosa. Queen of the Alps", described in detail.

In 1893, the hut was built by the Club Alpino Italiano (CAI) in honour of Queen Margherita of Savoy (1851-1926), herself an enthusiastic mountaineer. Situated at 4556m in the middle of the Monte Rosa area, extended several times, demolished in 1978 and rebuilt in 1980 with 70 sleeping places, it is still the highest mountaineering shelter in the Alps. And even today, more than half of its visitors suffer from symptoms of altitude sickness, which is caused by adaptation disorders due to a lack of oxygen.

Since its construction at the end of the 19th century, the Capanna Regina Margherita has been a centre for high-altitude psychological research. Not only do alpinists descend there on their high-altitude tours, research has always been carried out there. However, more than 100 years were to pass before the so-called Margherita Cocktail - not the classic cocktail "Margarita" with lime juice, orange liqueur and tequila, but a mix of dexamethasone, nifedipine and Diamox, which is part of the mountaineering emergency kit. Today, the field of high-altitude medicine still occupies scientists worldwide.

Anyone with alpine ambitions - however modest - should acquire basic knowledge about altitude sickness. Lack of acclimatisation and climbing too fast are the most common mistakes made by inexperienced mountain enthusiasts. A rapid descent, if possible, is still the best therapy for typical complaints

 

Zur Capanna Regina Margherita


On the history of the hut & high-altitude medicine: Monte Rosa: Queen of the Alps. Ed.: Daniel Anker, Marco Volken, AS-Verlag, Zurich 2009.

Basic knowledge of altitude sickness: Thomas Lämmle: Höhe x Bergsteigen - Die taktischen Grundregeln des Höhenbergsteigens, DAV Summit Club, 2010.

Basiswissen Hilfe am Berg: First Aid for Hikers and Mountaineers - The Pharmacy in Book Form, SAC-Verlag.

22 SUMMITS Histoires sur Zermatt | Signalkuppe

22 Summits Stories

Expériences en l'honneur de la Reine


Vin Marsala chaud, jaune d'œuf au vin rouge, repos au lit et cocaïne : c'est un traitement aventureux que les médecins ont donné à Pietro Ramella. Après une ascension de 48 heures avec un sac à dos de 20 kilos jusqu'à la Capanna Regina Margherita, sur le sommet du massif du Mont Rose, le soldat a souffert de maux de tête, de nausées, d'accélération du pouls et de crachats de sang. C'était en 1894 et Pietro Ramella faisait partie d'un groupe de cobayes dans une expérience visant à étudier le mal de l'altitude. Le physiologiste turinois Angelo Mosso, accompagné de 12 scientifiques, a mené les recherches dans le refuge d'alpinisme encore connu aujourd'hui sous le nom de "boîte à maux de tête". Le voyage de recherche de 1894 est décrit en détail dans un article d'Oswald Oelz, publié dans la monographie sur la montagne "Monte Rosa. Reine des Alpes", décrit en détail.

En 1893, la cabane a été construite par le Club Alpino Italiano (CAI) en l'honneur de la reine Marguerite de Savoie (1851-1926), elle-même passionnée d'alpinisme. Situé à 4556m au milieu de la zone du Mont Rose, agrandi plusieurs fois, démoli en 1978 et reconstruit en 1980 avec 70 places de couchage, il reste le plus haut refuge d'alpinisme des Alpes. Et aujourd'hui encore, plus de la moitié de ses visiteurs souffrent des symptômes du mal de l'altitude, qui est causé par des troubles de l'adaptation dus au manque d'oxygène.

Depuis sa construction à la fin du XIXe siècle, la Capanna Regina Margherita est un centre de recherche psychologique en haute altitude. Non seulement les alpinistes y descendent lors de leurs excursions en haute altitude, mais la recherche y a toujours été menée. Cependant, il a fallu attendre plus de 100 ans pour voir apparaître le cocktail Margherita - non pas le cocktail classique "Margarita" à base de jus de citron vert, de liqueur d'orange et de tequila, mais un mélange de dexaméthasone, de nifédipine et de Diamox, qui fait partie de la trousse d'urgence des alpinistes. Aujourd'hui encore, le domaine de la médecine en haute altitude continue à occuper les scientifiques du monde entier.

Toute personne ayant des ambitions d'alpinisme - même modestes - devrait acquérir des connaissances de base sur le mal des montagnes. Le manque d'acclimatation et une ascension trop rapide sont les erreurs les plus courantes commises par les amateurs de montagne inexpérimentés. Une descente rapide, si possible, reste la meilleure thérapie pour les plaintes typiques.


Capanna Regina Margherita

Sur l'histoire de la cabane et de la médecine de haute altitude : Le Mont Rose : la reine des Alpes. Eds : Daniel Anker,

Marco Volken, AS-Verlag, Zurich 2009.

Connaissances de base sur le mal des montagnes : Thomas Lämmle : Altitude x alpinisme -

Les règles tactiques de base de l'alpinisme en haute altitude, DAV Summit Club, 2010.

Basiswissen Hilfe am Berg : Premiers secours pour les randonneurs et les alpinistes - La pharmacie sous forme de livre,

SAC-Verlag.