22 SUMMITS stories about Zermatt | Stockhorn

22 Summits Stories

The blue glow from Stockhorn


When the Hohtälli-Stockhorn aerial tramway was built in 1958, workers noticed an unusual bluish glow in the rock. Word of the enigmatically beautiful find quickly spread and spotters came on the scene - as crystal and mineral collectors are known in Switzerland, who have so much geological knowledge that they are empowered to find rock treasures in the mountains.

The Stockhorn, the 3532 high mountain situated between the Triftji and Gorner glaciers, contained a high alpine locality for bluestone called lazulite. The site was soon developed and thoroughly exploited. The workers, however, had not been the first to notice the lazulite from the Stockhorn. Already in the 19th century (1866) the geologist Gustav Adolf Kenngott from Breslau had described the rock and its occurrence in Zermatt. However, this was only noted within natural science circles. Subsequently, it was Alexander Taugwalder (1897-1952), who not only excelled as a mountain guide, but was also a nature photographer and had a special sense for the beauty of creation. It was he who discovered the blue-glowing stones for the second time.

After him, the brothers Alfred and German Kronig made their mark on the lazulite. The exhibit, which is displayed in the mineral store "Serafina" in Zermatt, belongs to Alfred Kronig, the former professional cross-country skier and Olympian of 1952 (Oslo) - and radiator.

Lazulite was a popular gemstone in the 60s and 70s. There was a real boom, and even today gemstone cutters are happy to receive blanks from the Stockhorn. Lazulite is sky-blue shining, geologically speaking: a magnesium-iron-aluminium phosphate, which was discovered in Switzerland only in Zermatt and in Soglio in Bregaglia. Worldwide, there are only a few places where it has been found. Especially in Austria and in the USA lazulite is found. Thanks to its hardness, structure and colour it is very suitable for jewellery making. At Stockhorn it was found in nodules, often embedded in quartz and separated from the adjacent rock (a muscovite mica schist) by a yellow-green mica skin. Interlocked and intergrown with lazulite is mostly yellowish apatite.


There are still isolated spotlights in the region. The story of the blue glow on the Stockhorn was told to us by Sancho Biner from St. Niklaus, an employee of Zermatt Bergbahnen. His father took him and his younger brother along when they were still children and instructed them in the secrets of spotlighting. "Certainly, it takes a portion of luck to find minerals," says Sancho Biner, "but without geological knowledge, an understanding of the interrelationships in nature and a lot of experience to work found crevices professionally, it will be nothing. Combined with the search and adventure, the rays remain unique." Nowadays, Biner says, despite massive glacial retreats, a greater effort is needed to find minerals. "Fissured zones are usually systematically searched." In any case, the Stockhorn, that much is certain, is far more than a freeride area. It is a place that is not only reminiscent of the lazulite fever at the end of the 50s, but of mountains that are mystery.


Read more

Peter Bearth: Geological Guide to Zermatt. Ed.: Alpine Association Zermatt 1977

Hermann Fietz: Alexander Taugwalder, in: The Alps (special supplement), 1954

Gerhard Gnehm: Mineral Search between Zermatt and Saas Fee.

Mineral Encyclopaedia of Switzerland, Wepf Verlag, Zurich 1998

Robert L. Parker: The Minerals of the Swiss Alps, 1954/1973


Continue to marvel

Mineral museum with sales shop, art and crystal by Sancho Biner in St. Niklaus, By appointment: Tel. 079 - 366 43 90 or sanchobiner@gmail.com

Serafina, Hofmattstrasse 11
Tel. 079 501 03 57

Kristallgeheimnis am Kirchplatz
Tel. 079 290 29 30

22 SUMMITS Geschichten über Zermatt | Stockhorn

22 Summits Stories

Das blaue Leuchten vom Stockhorn


Als im Jahr 1958 die Pendelbahn Hohtälli-Stockhorn errichtet wurde, bemerkten Arbeiter im Fels ein aussergewöhnliches bläuliches Schimmern. Schnell hatte sich der rätselhaft schöne Fund herumgesprochen und Strahler auf den Plan gerufen – so nennt man in der Schweiz Kristall- und Mineraliensammler, die über so viel geologisches Wissen verfügen, das sie ermächtigt, Gesteinskostbarkeiten im Gebirge zu finden.

Das Stockhorn, der 3532 hohe und zwischen Triftji- und Gornergletscher gelegene Berg, barg eine hochalpine Fundstelle für Blauspath genannt Lazulith. Die Fundstelle war bald erschlossen und gründlich ausgebeutet. Die Arbeiter waren jedoch nicht die ersten gewesen, denen der Lazulith vom Stockhorn ins Auge gefallen war. Schon im 19. Jahrhundert (1866) hatte der Breslauer Geologe Gustav Adolf Kenngott das Gestein und sein Vorkommen in Zermatt beschrieben. Dies wurde jedoch nur innerhalb naturwissenschaftlicher Kreise zur Kenntnis genommen. In Folge war es Alexander Taugwalder (1897-1952), der sich nicht nur als Bergführer hervortat, sondern auch Naturfotograf war und über einen besonderen Sinn für die Schönheit der Schöpfung verfügte. Er war es, der zum zweiten Mal die blauleuchtenden Steine entdeckte.

Nach ihm machten sich die Brüder Alfred und German Kronig um den Lazulith verdient. Das Exponat, das im Mineraliengeschäft „Serafina“ in Zermatt ausgestellt ist, gehört Alfred Kronig, dem ehemaligen Profi-Langläufer und Olympioniken von 1952 (Oslo) – und Strahler.

Lazulith war in den 60er und 70er Jahren ein beliebter Schmuckstein. Es kam zu einem regelrechten Boom, und noch heute freuen sich Edelsteinschleifer über Rohlinge vom Stockhorn. Lazulith ist himmelblau leuchtend, geologisch gesprochen: ein Magnesium-Eisen-Aluminiumphosphat, das in der Schweiz nur in Zermatt und in Soglio im Bergell entdeckt wurde. Weltweit gibt es nur wenige Fundstellen. Vor allem in Österreich und in den USA kommt Lazulith vor. Dank seiner Härte, Struktur und Farbe eignet er sich hervorragend zur Schmuckanfertigung. Am Stockhorn lag er in Knauern vor, die oft in Quarz eingebettet und vom Nebengestein (ein Muskovitglimmerschiefer) durch eine gelbgrüne Glimmerhaut getrennt waren. Mit Lazulith verzahnt und verwachsen ist meist gelblicher Apatit.


Noch immer gibt es vereinzelt Strahler in der Region. Die Geschichte vom blauen Leuchten am Stockhorn hat uns Sancho Biner aus St. Niklaus, ein Angestellter der Zermatt Bergbahnen, erzählt. Schon sein Vater nahm ihn und seinen jüngeren Bruder mit, als sie noch Kinder waren, und wies sie in die Geheimnisse des Strahlens ein. „Sicherlich braucht es eine Portion Glück, um Mineralien zu finden“, sagt Sancho Biner, „aber ohne geologische Kenntnisse, Verständnis über die Zusammenhänge in der Natur und viel Erfahrung, um gefundene Klüfte fachgerecht zu bearbeiten, wird es nichts. In Kombination mit der Suche und dem Abenteuer bleibt das Strahlen einmalig.“ Heutzutage, so Biner, sei trotz massiver Gletscherrückgänge ein grösserer Aufwand nötig, um Mineralien zu finden. „Klüftige Zonen sind meist systematisch abgesucht.“ Das Stockhorn jedenfalls, so viel steht fest, ist weit mehr als ein Freeride-Gebiet. Es ist ein Ort, der nicht nur an das Lazulith-Fieber am Ende der 50er Jahre erinnert, sondern an Berge, die Geheimnis sind.


Weiterlesen

Peter Bearth: Geologischer Führer von Zermatt. Hrsg.: Alpine Vereinigung Zermatt 1977

Hermann Fietz: Alexander Taugwalder, in: Die Alpen (Sonderbeilage), 1954

Gerhard Gnehm: Mineraliensuche zwischen Zermatt und Saas Fee

Mineralienlexikon der Schweiz, Wepf Verlag, Zürich 1998

Robert L. Parker: Die Mineralien der Schweizer Alpen, 1954/1973


Weiterstaunen

Mineralienmuseum mit Verkaufsladen, Kunst und Kristall von Sancho Biner in St. Niklaus, Nach Voranmeldung: Tel. 079 – 366 43 90 oder sanchobiner@gmail.com

Serafina, Hofmattstrasse 11
Tel. 079 501 03 57

Kristallgeheimnis am Kirchplatz
Tel. 079 290 29 30