Zinalrothron

22 Summits Stories

Lunar eclipse on the Zinalrothorn


On 14 September 1932, Émile-Robert Blanchet, an alpinist from the French-speaking part of Switzerland, and his guide Kaspar Mooser from Täsch were confronted with a rather romantic and at the same time dangerous situation on the east face of the Zinalrothorn. Blanchet not only achieved various alpine feats between 1901 and 1942, he was also an important pianist and composer who looked at the world with different eyes and who was granted a special natural spectacle on the night in question, which the two mountain heroes would probably have liked to do without. Blanchet reports in his notes: "Mooser performs a significant feat as a rope artist to get up there. I miss the point of this showpiece, for my guide soon disappears from my field of vision. With this cursed backpack, I have no way of lifting my head either!" Artist Blanchet listens instead, head bowed, to the sound of the mountains: "Immobile, I wait, endlessly waiting. Silence - hammer blows - nail scratching - silence again ..." He and his guide were getting nowhere. Their retreat was cut off. It was getting dark. Then the bright full moon rose in the east and they climbed on. Then suddenly total darkness fell. Émile-Robert Blanchet and his guide Kasper Mooser were surprised by a lunar eclipse. With lanterns, they continued climbing on a vertical, extremely difficult and fragile wall, because Mooser wanted to avoid a bivouac. Then the lantern slipped away and they had to wait for the end of the lunar eclipse. At 1 a.m. they climbed out onto the Kanzelgrat and had climbed a large part of the east face for the first time.

The fact that the light conditions that night were due to an astronomical event that only occurs about 88 times per century was apparently not clear to the two mountaineers, even in retrospect. Blanchet does not mention the lunar eclipse in his report.


We owe the reference to this romantic and dangerous climb to the Zermatt mountain guide Hermann Biner. It is retold from his book "The Matterhorn and its Mountain Guides". Biner is considered one of the best experts on Zermatt's alpine history. He assumed responsibility for the mountain guide guild in a wide variety of roles at local, national and international level, including as president of the International Mountain Guide Association.


Read more

Hermann Biner: "Das Matterhorn und seine Bergführer" (Rotten Verlag, Visp 2015)

Émile-Robert Blanchet: "Hors des chemins battus: ascensions nouvelles dans les Alpes (Les éditions de France, 1932)


Information Lunar Eclipse

WILEY-VCH Publishing House, Weinheim 1933

22 SUMMITS Geschichten über Zermatt | Zinalrothorn

22 Summits Stories

Mondfinsternis am Zinalrothorn


Einer ziemlich romantischen und gleichzeitig brandgefährlichen Situation sahen sich am 14. September 1932 der Westschweizer Alpinist Émile-Robert Blanchet und sein Führer Kaspar Mooser aus Täsch an der Ostwand des Zinalrothorn ausgesetzt. Blanchet vollbrachte in den Jahren 1901 bis 1942 nicht nur diverse alpinistische Leistungen, er war zudem ein bedeutender Pianist und Komponist, der mit anderen Augen die Welt betrachtete und dem in besagter Nacht ein besonderes Naturschauspiel vergönnt war, auf das die beiden Berghelden wahrscheinlich gerne verzichtet hätten. Blanchet berichtet in seinen Aufzeichnungen: „Mooser vollbringt ein bedeutendes Kunststück als Seilkünstler, um sich da oben hinaufzubegeben. Mir entgeht das Wesentliche bei diesem Schaustück, denn mein Führer verschwindet bald aus meinem Gesichtsfeld. Bei diesem verfluchten Rucksack habe ich auch keine Möglichkeit, den Kopf zu heben!“ Künstler Blanchet lauscht stattdessen mit gesenktem Kopf dem Klang der Berge: „Unbeweglich harre ich, endlos wartend, aus. Schweigen – Hammerschläge – Nägelkratzen – wieder Schweigen ...“ Er und sein Führer kamen nicht mehr weiter. Ihr Rückzug war abgeschnitten. Es wurde dunkel. Da ging im Osten der helle Vollmond auf und sie kletterten weiter. Dann plötzlich trat völlige Dunkelheit ein. Émile-Robert Blanchet und sein Führer Kasper Mooser wurden von einer Mondfinsternis überrascht. Mit Laterne kletterten sie in einer senkrechten, äusserst schwierigen und brüchigen Wand weiter, weil Mooser ein Biwak vermeiden wollte. Da entglitt ihnen auch noch die Laterne und sie mussten das Ende der Mondfinsternis abwarten. Um 1 Uhr nachts stiegen sie auf den Kanzelgrat aus und hatten einen grossen Teil der Ostwand erstbegangen.

Dass die Lichtverhältnisse in jener Nacht einem astronomischen Ereignis geschuldet waren, das nur etwa 88 Mal pro Jahrhundert stattfindet, hat sich den beiden Bergsteigern offenbar auch im Nachhinein nicht erschlossen. Blanchet erwähnt die Mondfinsternis in seinem Bericht mit keinem Wort.


Wir verdanken den Hinweis auf diese romantische und gefährliche Kletterei dem Zermatter Bergführer Hermann Biner. Sie ist aus seinem Buch „Das Matterhorn und seine Bergführer“ nacherzählt. Biner gilt als einer der besten Kenner der alpinistischen Geschichte Zermatts. Er übernahm in den unterschiedlichsten Rollen auf lokaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene Verantwortung für die Bergführerzunft, unter anderem als Präsident des internationalen Bergführerverbands.


Weiterlesen

Hermann Biner: „Das Matterhorn und seine Bergführer“ (Rotten Verlag, Visp 2015)

Émile-Robert Blanchet: „Hors des chemins battus: ascensions nouvelles dans les Alpes (Les éditions de France, 1932)


Information Mondfinsternis

WILEY-VCH Verlag, Weinheim 1933